December 10, 2022

519 Magazine

Complete News World

Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muradov are the winners

(CNN) – The Nobel Peace Prize 2021 was awarded to journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muradov for their efforts to protect freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia.

Muradov runs the independent Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta, a media outlet critical of the regime of Reza Raffler’s CEO, Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte.

Maria Ressa (Photo credit to ISAAC Lawrence / AFP read via Getty Images)

“Independent, independent and truth-based journalism helps protect against abuse of power, lies and war propaganda,” Perit Reyes-Anderson, chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, announced the award in Oslo on Friday.

He said the committee’s election “emphasizes the importance of protecting and safeguarding these fundamental rights.”

Dmitry Muradov (AB Photo / Alexander Zemlyanichenko)

This is the 102nd edition of the award. Past winners include Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King, Jr., Polish dissident Lek Velesa, Mikhail Gorbachev, the last leader of the Soviet Union, and four US presidents.

Last year, it received the UN World Food Program Award.

Reza is the first woman to receive the Nobel Prize this year. The Medicine, Physics, Chemistry and Literature Awards were presented earlier this week.

See also  What Juan Carlos Osorio said after the drastic defeat against Nacional