Carly Rae Jepsen Takes Home First Juno In Pre-Awards Gala

Carly Rae JepsonThe stars aligned in the Prairies as 1,150 Canadian music industry members gathered to toast 35 JUNO Award winners at the 2013 JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards. Hosted by Jian Ghomeshi, the evening’s festivities at Regina’s Credit Union Eventplex also featured performances by a spectacular lineup of 2013 JUNO Award nominees and winners, as well as unforgettable tributes to some of the most influential names in Canadian music.
The celebration got off to a stirring start with a country medley featuring four 2013 JUNO Award nominees: Dean Brody with Colin James, Donny Parenteau, and Kira Isabella.
It was a night of many milestones, including the first-ever presentation of the JUNO Award for Adult Contemporary Album of the Year to The Tenors. Meanwhile, multiple 2013 nominee, Carly Rae Jepsen, closed the show by winning her first JUNO Award for Pop Album of the Year. 
The evening also featured one family milestone, with the iconic Leonard Cohen winning Artist of the Year on the same night as his son, Adam Cohen, made his JUNO Awards debut as both a nominee and a performer. While the elder Cohen was not in Regina to accept the award in person, the younger singer-songwriter picked up the statuette on his father’s behalf and showcased the family trade on stage in a performance.
Guests at the performance-packed gala also enjoyed numbers by two of the night’s JUNO Award winners: The Tenors, and Rose Cousins (who took home the award for Roots & Traditional Album of the Year: Solo), as well as a show-stopping number from JUNO Award nominee Monster Truck.
The Weeknd was one of the big winners, earning JUNO Awards for Breakthrough Artist of the Year and R&B/Soul Recording of the Year. Metric’s album SYNTHETICA landed three awards: the band won Alternative Album of the Year, band member James Shaw was named Jack Richardson Producer of the Year, and art director Justin Broadbent took homeRecording Package of the Year.
Other JUNO Award winners from the evening included: Classified and David Myles (Rap Recording of the Year), Crystal Shawanda (Aboriginal Album of the Year), Grimes (Electronic Album of the Year), Johnny Reid (Country Album of the Year), Woods of Ypres (Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year) and Rush (Rock Album of the Year).
Additional highlights included a special tribute to Tom Cochrane as the recipient of the 2013 Allan Waters Humanitarian Award, and music industry journalist Larry LeBlanc being honoured with the 2013 Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award.
Seven remaining JUNO Award categories will be announced tomorrow, Sunday, April 21, during the broadcast on CTV from the Brandt Centre in Regina, hosted by Canadian musical icon Michael Bublé. The 2013 JUNO Awards airs live in Atlantic Canada, Québec, Ontario, and Saskatchewan at 8 p.m. ET (9 p.m. AT/6 p.m. CT), as well as at 8 p.m. CT/MT/PT in Manitoba, Alberta, and British Columbia.